Science Opposers

SO, ya... be nice. We don't all have to agree about what the world should be like. I personally think the world should be an awesome place. :-)
....and no offense to anyone, but please keep the bible thumping out of it. I'm just not up to explaining how incredibly stastitically improbably it is that the earth is 6000-ish years old.

Re: Science Opposers

Postby DrJekyll » Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:44 pm

Despite my name, I am not a doctor :lol:

I will agree that there are bad doctors out there that are just prompted by greed. This especially applies to surgeons, IMHO. But I would say that there are more good doctors than bad doctors, though maybe that varies a lot from region to region. I think that the greediest people in medicine are the pharmaceutical companies**. They push their product which may or may not do what they claim, and in some cases the treatment may be worse than the disease. Think of a brand name drug, Advil, Tylenola, Aspirin. By law, generic brands (ibuprofen, acetaminophen, acetasalisilic acid) have to be exactly as effective as the same brand name. Now, when the general public is inundated with commercials for brand name drugs, they are going to think they work better than generic ones. If it is just something like ibuprofen, not a big deal. But for prescription drugs, the price difference can be pretty big. Even if a doctor suggests prescribing the generic drug, saying how it is just as effective, the patient may be convinced by advertisements that they need the brand name one. Hence why you will see a commercial saying "ask your doctor about...".