need some help on where to start......

Show off your projects, ask about others, talk about mine, whatever. Ask for help, or just say, Wooo, thats cool.

need some help on where to start......

Postby paranoid » Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:55 pm

hello everyone,
i am a disabled american war veteran that has relocated to my home state (indiana) after 8 years of military experience and 3 tours to iraq. i'm finding that my transition to civilian life has left me with a lot of time on my hands now. i've decided to take on a project of making my own log splitter. however, i don't know where to start and could really use some help/advice to point me in the right direction. i was a medic in the army and my abilities of being mechanically inclined are limited. if anyone could help out, i would greatly appreciate it. thanks.
paranoid

Re: need some help on where to start......

Postby Willzilla » Sat Nov 26, 2011 9:29 am

I have no experience with log splitters but what I would do is look at how lots of different ones are made and how they work, then find the design features they have in common and the things that are different. Generally you want to reverse engineer them and just look at the basic principles of how they function. I think they just drive a splitting edge through the wood right? Figure out what forces are needed and where and what objects (like a blade) are needed. This is pretty much what I do when I want to make something. Once you have the basic workings just figure out how it can all fit together and you can ask for help on that :D